Jamestown Historical Society logo

Items with Images Only

Keyword Search

Keyword Search allows you to search across multiple fields for any catalog record.


To search by phrase, wrap your criteria in quotes. For example: "Jamestown Windmill". You can also use the asterisk (*) as a wildcard to find things in a string of text. For example Ferr* will return both Ferry and Ferries.


Keyword searches use OR as the default. For example, a search for Governor Carr will return records associated Governor OR Carr. To find records with both keywords type in AND between the words.

176 results found.

Image of P1986.106 - Narragansett Ave E, #191

P1986.106 - Narragansett Ave E, #191

Meadowsweet Farm, see Purple book,

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1987.002 - Barn at Weeden farm

P1987.002 - Barn at Weeden farm

Barn at Weeden farm on Weeden Lane. Still standing, 2000?, Photo taken by one of the Smith family on his way from Potter Cove to the Friends Meeting House. (Original envelope says: "Barn on Conanicut, pre 1894 by Smith")

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1988.011 - George C Carr Farm House

P1988.011 - George C Carr Farm House

Color photograph of J[ames] B[rade] Sword painting of George C Carr's 19th (1887) century farm house. Farm house is in the left center of the top half of the painting. Sheep graze in the foreground.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1988.012 - George Carr Farm House

P1988.012 - George Carr Farm House

Black and white photograph of J[ames] B[rade] Sword painting of George C Carr's 19th century farm house. Farm house is in the left center of the top half of the painting. Sheep graze in the foreground. A small slice (less than 5%) of the left side of the original picture not in photo.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1988.013 - George Carr Farm House

P1988.013 - George Carr Farm House

Black and white photograph of J[ames] B[rade] Sword painting of George C Carr's 19th century farm house. (Plat 6, lot 23) Farm house is in the left center of the top half of the painting. Sheep graze in the foreground. A small slice (less than 5%) of the left side of the original picture not in photo.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1990.015 - North Main Rd

P1990.015 - North Main Rd

Sheep crossing bridge at Creek, color JAS Monks painting, b&w neg

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1991.008 - William Trost Richards View of Watson Farm.

P1991.008 - William Trost Richards View of Watson Farm.

Thomas Carr Watson Farmhouse, (Plat 6, lot 18) built ca 1796. View across Watson farms. Black and white photo of William Trost Richards painting. Note on reverse: Sotheby's Catalog #5787 Dec. 1, 1988 / #59 $100,000-150,000 / Color Print. Berry-Hill V/0201 WILLIAM TROST RICHARDS (1833-1905) The Watson Farm, Conanicut, RI Oil on canvas 28x48 inches Framed: 40 x 60 inches Signed and deted (lower left): Wm T. Richards 98 Helga Photo Studi ...

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1997.003 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #44

P1997.003 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #44

Aerial View Dutra Farm & vicinity, copy of picture postcard

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1997.004 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #44

P1997.004 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #44

Aerial View Dutra Farm & vicinity, copy of picture postcard, filed in Plat 7 E Shore Rd

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1997.005 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #45

P1997.005 - East Shore Rd/ Weeden Ln #45

Aerial View Dutra Farm & vicinity. Taken from over the east passage looking west northwest. Jamestown Bridge in background. Taken before any major development of Jamestown Shores.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P1998.091 - Windmill Day

P1998.091 - Windmill Day

Windmill day, probably 1990. Sheep from Watson Farm curled next to base of windmill.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2001.122

P2001.122

wagon drawn by two horses on a farm "Island Rubbish" on reverse of photo

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2001.129

P2001.129

Cross Island Highway - Dutra Farm and middle East Shore Road in foreground

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2002.038 - Fox Hill Farm

P2002.038 - Fox Hill Farm

Fox Hill Farm view across Mackerel Cove from Cottrell Farm field (Highland Drive)

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2003.005.001 - 'Longwood" 1887.

P2003.005.001 - 'Longwood" 1887.

'Longwood" 1887. Invitation to 100th anniversary. Drawing on front of pink postcard by A. Rausch '87 of Longwood. Printed message on reverse: "Longwood" was built on the old Bryer Farm 1886-87 FOr REar Admiral Clarke H. Wells. It was later owned by the Wickes, Pollock, Chew, Popple, Reeves, and Spangler families. Handwritten message: You are invited to help us celebrate our "100th" on Friday, Sept 4 at 9 Bryer Ave. Form 5 to 7 (Parking on ...

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2004M.040 - East Shore Road - Drummond

P2004M.040 - East Shore Road - Drummond

Plat 7, Lot 75, East Shore Road (building demolished for connector road) Book caption summary: 1927 "Mr. Joseph Drummond is building a five-room bungalow on his farm on the west side of Conanicus Avenue." 1928 "A five-room bungalow is being constructed north of Potter's cove by J.A. MacKenzie for Elizabeth Drummond on a corner of the Drummond farm and is expected to be completed some time next month." (2/23) NDN See page 47.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2004M.044 - Fort Getty Road (654)

P2004M.044 - Fort Getty Road (654)

654 Fort Getty Road Book caption summary: 1929 Mr. John Scheepers is erecting a small cottage at Fox Hill Farm, 1930 Thomas D. Wright constructed the six-room frame bungalow, completed last June,painted green and white with fieldstone chimney. (2/24) NDN See page 56 and related.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2004M.082 - North Road (305)

P2004M.082 - North Road (305)

305 North Road Book caption summary: 1929 ground broken for new farm house on John J. Watson Farm. 1930 "This two-story cottage, consisting of seven rooms, was completed in December by Thomas D. Wright, the genera; contractor, and has a two-car garage adjoining." NDN See page 106 and related.

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2004M.195 - John J. Watson House (6-2)

P2004M.195 - John J. Watson House (6-2)

The left section of house is three stories, the right is two. The left side has two windows on both the first and second floors, and one window on the third floor. There is a chimney atop its roof. The right section, which is attached, has a large from door with small windows in its frame, as well as two windows on either side. The second floor has three equally spaced windows. There is a chimney in the center of its roof. The entire structur ...

Object Type: Photo

Image of P2004M.250 - 32 Buoy A (Plat 15, 32 Buoy St: fishing cottage, moved 1948 from Beavertail)

P2004M.250 - 32 Buoy A (Plat 15, 32 Buoy St: fishing cottage, moved 1948 from Beavertail)

Photo shows 32 Buoy Street ca. 1948. "The cottage at Beacon and Buoy was one of the first at the Jamestown Shores. Originally the only other buildings were those on the Froberg Farm. In this photo, courtesy of Roy and Nancy Beye, a wonderful view of the water existed." See page 18.

Object Type: Photo